Medicare is health insurance for people age 65 or older, under 65 with certain disabilities, and any age with End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD). ESRD is permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a kidney transplant. The different parts of Medicare help cover specific services if you meet certain conditions. Medicare has four parts – A, B, C, and D. Each is designed to cover specific services, allowing you to choose the plan that is the best fit for you based on your healthcare needs and budget.

Medicare Parts A and B

Medicare is a Federal health insurance program for people 65 years or older, certain people with disabilities, and people with permanent kidney failure treated with dialysis or a transplant. When talking about Medicare, people often mention Part A and Part B. These two parts of Medicare break down as follows:

Medicare Part A

Medicare Part A helps cover your inpatient care in hospitals, including critical access hospitals and skilled nursing facilities (not custodial or long-term care). It also helps cover hospice care and some home healthcare. You must meet certain conditions to get these benefits.

Medicare Part B

Medicare Part B helps cover your doctors' services and outpatient care as well as some other medical services that Part A doesn't cover, such as some of the services of physical and occupational therapists, and some home healthcare.

Medicare Part C and D

Medicare Part C

Medicare Part C includes Part A, Part B and usually other benefits Medicare doesn’t cover. Most plans also provide prescription drug coverage.

Medicare Part D

Medicare Part D helps cover the cost of prescription drugs. Each plan can vary in cost and drugs covered.

Medicare Parts A and B pay for many healthcare services and supplies, but they don’t cover all of your healthcare costs.

Also, drug coverage when not in the hospital is very limited. That's why most people who go with Medicare carry additional Medicare coverage from a private insurance company — Parts C and D. Explore America’s First Choice  Medicare Plans

To learn more about Medicare, click on the following link: Medicare & You Handbook

Last Updated: 11/29/2018
Home  |  About Us  |  Careers  |  Contact
H8170_Website   |   © 2019 America's 1st Choice